Shane McDonald Facebook pixel
Return of the Champions

Return of the Champions, Released:
Tuesday, September 13th 2005

Highest UK Chart Position: 13

Track Listing

1) Reaching Out
2) Tie Your Mother Down
3) I Want To Break Free
4) Fat Bottomed Girls
5) Wishing Well
6) Another One Bites The Dust
7) Crazy Little Thing Called Love
8) Say It’s Not True
9) ’39
10) Love Of My Life
11) Hammer To Fall
12) Feel Like Making Love
13) Let There Be Drums
14) I’m In Love With My Car
15) Guitar Solo
16) Last Horizon
17) These Are The Days Of Our Lives
18) Radio Ga Ga
19) Can’t Get Enough
20) A Kind Of Magic
21) I Want It All
22) Bohemian Rhapsody
23) The Show Must Go On
24) All Right Now
25) We Will Rock You
26) We Are The Champions
27) God Save The Queen

Return of the Champions

Queen + Paul Rodgers Album

Return of the Champions is the live album from Queen+ Paul Rodgers

Paul Rodgers (vocals, guitar)
Brian May (vocals, guitar)
Roger Taylor (vocals, drums).

Additional personnel: Spike Edney (vocals, keyboards); Danny Miranda (vocals, bass guitar); Jamie Moses (guitar).
Recording information: Hallam FM Arena, Sheffield, England (9th May, 2005).

Two Disk CD;
CD1 : Running Time – 1:14:42
CD2 : Running Time – 0:52:43

Recommended Songs : 

Reaching Out, Tie Your Mother Down, Say It’s Not True, ‘39, Love Of My Life, Hammer To Fall, Last Horizon, The Show Must Go On, All Right Now


I was actually at the Queen+ Paul Rodgers concert at Le Zenith in Paris (2005). So, I had an idea of what to expect from Return of the Champions. In most respects this live album very much lives up to my expectations, however, being a live album, I thought the mix between the audience and the live sound was a bit unbalanced in places.

Paul, Roger and Brian do an excellent job in getting through 27 Queen / Free classics. But for anyone expecting a Freddie type performance, you must remember that Paul Rodgers never wanted to portray that style of front-man.
You get to hear some Queens songs which were never performed on the road from the Miracle and Innuendo albums. There are also some interesting performances on the album, including a brand-new version of Hammer to Fall from Brian, Roger singing These are the Days of our Lives and Freddie singing Bohemian Rhapsody … no thats what really happened !

There is a lot of varied opinion on whether this is a good album or not, but I think the album is a real rock-fest ; a collaboration of Rock-Genuis. There should be songs on the album which everyone should recognise and rock along to.

Review Rating : 8

Some parts of the DVD / Album have been overdubbed, edited or omitted. There were some funny moments during concerts, these are omitted from this release, giving a perfect yet less-live resulting album.

Subscribe to the Shane's Queen Site YouTube Channel

Click the link to Subscribe to the Shane's Queen Site YouTube Channel which has piano tutorials, Queen reviews, the latest Queen news, Queen Covers, Queen Tribute Bands and much more...

Share This