Freddie Mercury (Solo Album)

Released: Monday, 16th November 1992
Highest UK Chart Position: 4

Track Listing

1) The Great Pretender
2) Foolin’ Around
3) Time
4) Your Kind Of Lover
5) Exercises In Free Love
6) In My Defence
7) Mr. Bad Guy
8) Let’s Turn It On
9) Living On My Own
10) Love Kills
11) Barcelona

Freddie Mercury (Solo Album)

Freddie Mercury Album

UK release of similar US Album “The Great Pretender”.

Spent 14 weeks on the UK Chart.

Recommended Songs: The Great Pretender, Love Kills, Barcelona


The Freddie Mercury album was released in the USA also, under the name ‘Mr. Bad Guy’ – with some small differences to track listings. Solo albums gave Freddie a chance to experiment in a way he couldn’t with Queen, for example, using full orchestras.

I had actually bought Brian Mays ‘Back to the Light’ and ‘The Great Pretender’ around the same time, quite a while before I had heard many of Queen’s work. I was hooked straight away with ‘The Great Pretender’ which had quite a funny video also. The album has a varied set of musical styles, from ballads like ‘Time’ and ‘In my Defence’ to Dance style songs like ‘Foolin Around’,‘Let’s Turn It On’ and ‘Living on my Own’. Freddie said that the song, ‘Living On My Own’ was in a way about his life and was in no way talking about other people living on their own.

Exceptional Quality on the album with the typical Freddie Mercury style, loads of piano, great harmonies, expert songwriting- one for everyone’s collection.
Review Rating: 9

The Freddie Mercury Album was released almost 1 year after Freddie’s death, reaching #4 in the UK, and spending over 30 weeks on the Dutch Charts.

Share This